20 working ground rules

Good morning,

I was just reading a post from Laura M. Molla, from «GMR Management y Servicios Jurídicos» with the title «The dark side of the lawyer» (in Spanish, see EL LADO OSCURO DEL ABOGADO) which comments the relationship client – lawyer and the difficulty in making a client realize the amount of back-office work that requires providing him with the required advice.

This post made me think that the relationship between the associates of a firm (including partners) and the junior associates/trainees (hereinafter, «Juniors») also has its difficulties. Of course most of the associates were previously Junior, but they normally tend to miss various ground rules and take things for granted that they shouldn’t.

It’s key to work on a good «associate – Juniors» relationship. We have to bear in mind that it is the Juniors who help them to do their job better and who normally do all the «dirty work». Yes, of course all that later comes back to the Juniors as expertise and experience, but that doesn’t have to imply that such works aren’t asked for nicely. The Juniors work better if their relationship with the associate is fluent and if their help is requested nicely.

From my experience (and my colleagues’ experience) here in Spain, we have managed to list 20 ground rules that any associate should always take into account (allow me to list them as a conversation with the associate):

  1. Yes, even if I look older, I’m new in this thing called lawyering. I have plenty to learn and study. Take that into account and be patient.
  2. If you need something urgently, tell me so. Especially if you need me to do some research or to understand some paperwork. Bear in mind that I will always want to read another ruling, another book and another scholar’s opinion in the matter that may back better my position.
  3. Research for case law may look easy and fast to you, but you really know it is not, so «keep calm and be patient«.
  4. If I don’t find case law regarding some aspect, it is probably because I am not searching the right way. When you ask me to do that research, think about that and help me so I can be more efficient.
  5. There will be plenty of times that I will not really understand what you’re explaining to me, but I will say yes and go back to my play to try to understand it. If I come back with my head down, do not freak out. I won’t happen again.
  6. There are some corporate structures that are difficult to get, contracts that I don’t understand and advice that I don’t know how to explain. I will always need your help or opinion.
  7. If you ask me to review something, it is almost impossible that I have made myself the same questions that you would have made. In some way, experience is that: making the right questions.
  8. I still haven’t learned to be in the client’s shoes when they ask me for something.
  9. Of course I’m nervous when I call a client for a first time. Maybe its better that you’re with me to intervene if necessary. If you can’t and I fail, please know that I will be sorry and that I’ve tried my best (at the time). If you don’t want to be with me, thanks for the responsibility, but if I fail, same as earlier.
  10. If when speaking to a client I don’t get all the information you wanted me to get, it is not all my fault. Tell me exactly what you want me to find out and I will ask for it, but until I gain experience, I will not be able to go further.
  11. I know you like to draft thing at your own way. You’re not the only one that I work with and I have to adapt to each one of you. And it is not easy.
  12. There are plenty of aspects of the transactions I am normally not aware of, especially if you don’t involve me since the beginning. If you’ve hired me, that means I’m not stupid. So stop for a moment and think if I have all the documentation prior to losing your nerves.
  13. Be quick and learning are two concepts that are normally at odds. Usually, one or the other.
  14. When I fail, bear in mind that it is usual and that I will try not to do it again.
  15. When I fail, tell me. When I succeed, also tell me. When I’m above expectations, a little bit of flatter keeps our confidence up.
  16. I am available 24/7, but if you’re going to mess with my weekend, an entire night or my vacation, don’t assume that it is my preferred plan. Tell me that you appreciate those efforts we make for you.
  17. When I’m up working until 5 in the morning, the next day I’m going to be tired. You would also be tired, so don’t ask me to be at my best. Believe me when I say that I’m trying.
  18. Don’t ask me to do something at 9 pm on a Friday if it can’t wait until Monday. Better, don’t ask me to do something after 9 pm if you can ask for ir next day first thing in the morning. If I need work, don’t worry, I will come to you.
  19. Like you, I have a personal life and, therefore, I will also have personal probelms that may distract me.
  20. YOU DON’T PAY ME TO «HEAT THE CHAIR» DOING NOTHING calentar la silla«, in Spanish). If I can go, tell me to go.

If you’re a Junior, this is a good list on what you can experience upon starting in the practice of law. You have to learn to play with the personality and humour of your colleagues in order to see when is the right time to say everything.

Please feel free to comment.

Best
Litt

(The Spanish version of this post, here)

Un comentario

Deja un comentario